New York City & Westchester Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Claims
Even though drivers in New York are required to carry automobile insurance, accidents with uninsured motorists are not uncommon. These accidents can involve drivers whose insurance has lapsed, hit and run drivers, or stolen vehicles. Similarly, many drivers only carry the mandatory minimum amount of liability coverage which may cover all of an accident victim’s damages.
Michael LoGiudice, LLP routinely handles uninsured and underinsured motorist claims for personal injury clients in the greater New York area, including Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, the Bronx and Westchester, Putnam, Dutchess, Nassau and Suffolk Counties.
New York Automobile Insurance Coverage Requirements
In New York, drivers are only required to have the minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for the death of one person in a one-car accident
- $50,000 for injuries to multiple people and $100,000 for deaths of multiple people in a one-car accident
- $10,000 for property damage in a one-car accident
What is UM/SUM Insurance Coverage?
All insurance companies are required to provide Underinsured Motorist (UM) and Supplemental Underinsured Motorist (SUM) coverage which enables you to file a claim with your own insurance company for drivers and passengers injured in accidents with uninsured or underinsured drivers.
Uninsured Motorist Claims
Coverage for uninsured motorists includes drivers without insurance, unregistered and stolen vehicles, and hit and run drivers that cannot be identified. The minimum amount of coverage that must be provided is $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for two or more people. However, to obtain the maximum protection, it is necessary to purchase coverage that equals the amount of your personal liability coverage.
Underinsured Motorist Claims
Supplemental underinsured coverage only covers up to the amount you purchase. This means that any coverage the other driver has is deducted from that amount. So, if you purchase $100,000 in underinsured coverage, and the other driver has the minimum of $25,000, you can file a claim up to $75,000. Moreover, if you intend to file an SUM claim, you must notify the insurance company “as soon as practicable,” otherwise the insurer will have a basis to deny the claim.
UM/SUM Claims Attorney In New York
Being injured in an automobile accident is a traumatic experience which can be made worse if the other driver was uninsured or underinsured. Even if you have UM/SUM coverage, obtaining the full value of a claim can be difficult, and insurers often seek to deny these claims altogether. If you were involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, the law office of Michael LoGiudice can help you obtain the maximum compensation. Fill out a contact form or call our office today.